That same year as the first tourists arrived with the "Sportsman's Route", they set up a prefabricated hotel in Longyearbyen. The house had room for 30 guests and was the world's northernmost hotel. Here tourists could get their post cards stamped, and they read the local newspaper "Spitsbergen Gazette", which they could find in both English, German and Norwegian. Two years later, the route was shut down and the hotel sold their properties to the coal mining company Arctic Coal. The buidling was used as a shop, before it was burned down by the Germans in 1943 during the war. Although the hotel was not operating for more than two years, it was an important historic event for the Norwegian coal history and tourist history.